Varsha Sundaresan Wins 2018 Alec Courtelis Award

Varsha Sundaresan, member of the Lei Zhou laboratory and Cancer Biology concentration won 2nd place in the UF competition for the Alec Courtelis Outstanding International Student Award.

Dear UFIC Community,

The University of Florida International Center congratulates the following applicants on being selected to receive the 2018 Alec Courtelis, ​Scarborough-Maud Fraser and Diane Fisher Awards. We are very proud of all of our applicants.

Alec Courtelis Award

1st Place $3,000 Award

Hao Gan

College of Agricultural and Life Sciences

2nd place $1,500 Award

Varsha Sundaresan

College of Medicine


Mark Preston Lopez

College of Education

Scarborough-Maud Fraser Award

$1,000 Award

Ayodeji Abayomi Otufowora

Public Health and Health Professions

Diane Fisher Award

$500 Award

Daria Bulatnikova

Warrington College of Business


Georgia Marris

College of Agricultural and Life Sciences

International Student Achievement Award Ceremony 

Date: Wednesday, November 14th, 2018

Time: 5:30pm – 8:00pm

Doors open: 5pm

Location: Emerson Alumni Hall

*Award recipients and their advisors, please look out for an additional email with information regarding your scholarship and the ceremony in the coming days*

Please see the link below and direct any additional questions about the award ceremony to

Amanda Apatow


2018 International Awards

(From left to right – Dr. Henry Baker, Ying Li, Vindhya Vijay, Varsha Sundaresan, Seema Patel, Betty Wang)



Thank you and congratulations!