COM Madelyn Lockhart Award Nominee

After a recent internal competition, Heran Getachew, PhD Candidate in the Ann Progulske Fox laboratory and member of the Immunology and Microbiology concentration is the College of Medicine nominee for the university level Madelyn Lockhart Dissertation Fellowship Award.

Madelyn Lockhart Dissertation Fellowship

The Association for Academic Women (AAW) at the University of Florida established the Madelyn Lockhart Fellowship to honor a PhD. Candidate who is both an outstanding researcher and who has contributed to creating a more inclusive and diverse community. One Fellowship in the amount of up to $2,000 will be awarded annually to assist in the dissertation phase of the doctoral degree. The recipient must be enrolled in dissertation credits the semester (or summer) s/he receives the fellowship.

This award was established to honor Dr. Madelyn Lockhart, who served as Dean of the Graduate School and Dean of International Studies and Programs at the University of Florida from 1985 to 1993 (and also as Associate Dean 1981 to 1985, and Assistant dean 1973 to 1977 and 1979 to 1981), and who aided students in many ways, including implementation of this Fellowship program to assist students working on their dissertations. A nomination can come from a faculty member or from the candidate and the candidate can be from any Ph.D. program. 

Students must apply to their departments/colleges by December 21, 2018. Colleges must forward successful applications to the Graduate School via e-mail no later than 5 p.m. on February 1, 2019. The winner will be notified by mid-February. The award will be presented at the Annual Women’s History Month Celebration, typically held in March.