GMS 6003/First Year Mentoring Group Information

1

The first year mentoring groups were created to support our first year students as they transition into graduate school. Within the Biomedical Sciences Program, the groups offer students with a “home base” until choosing a research mentor. The small groups are comprised of a graduate faculty member and one to two advanced graduate students. Each mentoring group will discuss a wide range of topics, including graduate school expectations, laboratory rotation selections, preparing for core course exams, and preparing for rotation practice talks. Students are encouraged to actively participate in group discussion and to feel comfortable asking questions and providing feedback. There is a schedule of weekly topics that will be provided to the group. The outline each week is prepared by an advanced student leader.

The groups will meet on Thursdays from 11:00-12:00 via ZOOM during the fall 2020 semester.

Fall 2021 Schedule

Date/Time/PlaceTopicLead Presenter
Thursday 26 August/ 11-12Introduction, COVID-19, classes, labs, and resourcesmentoring group
Thursday 2 September/ 11-12Selecting a Mentor & Dissertation Project/ Coursework and committee selectionmentoring group
Thursday 9 September/ 11-12Life in the Lab & Bumps in the Roadmentoring group
Thursday 16 September/ 11-12Survival Skills For Grad SchoolDede/Gorske/mentoring group (breakout)
Thursday 23 SeptemberRotation Expectations-write-upMentoring group
Thursday 30 September/ 11-12Oral Presentation SkillsDietmar Siemann/mentoring group (breakout)
Thursday 7 October/ 11-12Effective Mentor/Mentee CommunicationMentoring group
Thursday 14 October/11-1Rotation talk practiceMentoring group
Thursday 21 October/ 11-12Diversity & InclusionJoe Abisambra/mentoring groups (breakout)
Thursday 28 October/ 11-12ProfessionalismMentoring group
Thursday 4 November 11-12Life After Grad School-Post Docs & Beyond (career planning)Talline Martins
Thursday 11 November/ 11-12No Class – Veterans Day HolidayNo Class-Veterans Day Holiday
Thursday 18 November 11-12Attending Scientific meetingsMentoring group
Thursday 25 NovemberNo Class – Thanksgiving HolidayNo Class – Thanksgiving Holiday
Thursday 2 December/ 11-12The Professional Wellness JourneyLisa Merlo/mentoring group (breakout)
Thursday 9 December/ 11-1 Rotation talk practiceMentoring group

Disclaimer: The images on these page were taken prior to the national guidelines of face coverings and social distancing.